At RIVERSTONE BOOKS: Brad Parks new thriller CLOSER THAN YOU KNOW

JOIN US AT RIVERSTONE BOOKS IN McCANDLESS!  OUR FIRST-EVER JOINT EVENT!

Earlier this year, Brad Parks’ first standalone thriller, Say Nothing, captivated dedicated fans and new readers alike with its shocking twists, engaging characters, and affecting storytelling. We knew we had something special on our hands (after all, Parks was already beloved by many and the only person to have won the Shamus, Nero and Lefty Awards), but we didn’t realize just how special until the early rave reviews came in. Many readers, including bestselling thriller master Sue Grafton and reviewers from The Washington PostThe Star-Ledger and The Richmond Times-Dispatch, heaped praise on the book, proclaiming to be as moved as they were thrilled.

Brad Parks delivers another riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew.

Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know.

It was a lesson she learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthood--with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex--she thought that turmoil was behind her.

Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It's a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls "the system." 

Her nightmare mushrooms when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose Alex forever.

Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth's attorney Amy Kaye--who has been assigned Melanie's case--has her own troubles. She's been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women.

Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation . . . or her undoing.

Closer Than You Know: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781101985625
Published: Dutton - March 6th, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
Say Nothing: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781101985601
Published: Dutton - December 5th, 2017

Praise for Say Nothing

“Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent’s worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis....Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone.”
Library Journal (starred review)

“The novel’s final pages are exciting, surprising and deeply moving. How moving? Its ending brought me to tears, and, where books are concerned, such moments are rare...[Say Nothing] carries his work to a new level.”
The Washington Post

“Parks dispenses plot twists with a poisoned eyedropper...The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you'll be shaking with gratitude that it's finally over.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“[Say Nothing] begins by shocking the mind and ends by shattering the heart...Readers will quickly say ‘yes’ to this spellbinding, disturbing novel.”
The Richmond Times-Dispatch


Event address: 
Riverstone Books
8850 Covenant Avenue
McCandless, PA 15237
Event date: 
Sunday, March 18, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm