Kids! Meet author Caroline Carlson!

Event date: 
Saturday, April 13, 2019 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm

Caroline Carlson Table Signing

"The Door at the End of the World"

Event Date: Saturday, April 13th

Join us as we welcome Caroline Carlson back to the Penguin Bookshop for her newest book, "The Door at the End of the World." This book is the newest edition to Caroline's other works, including The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series. She is a native Pittsburgh Middle grade author. 

An otherworldly middle grade story perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and Stranger Things from the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and the Agatha Award nominee The World’s Greatest Detective.

What begins as a rather unremarkable Tuesday quickly turns to disaster when Lucy, the Gatekeeper's deputy, discovers that her boss has vanished and the door connecting Lucy's world to the next world over is broken—and it all might be Lucy's fault.

To save the Gatekeeper and set things right, Lucy must break the rules for the first time ever and journey with an otherworldly boy, a suspiciously sneaky girl, and a crew of magical bees into the seven worlds beyond her own.

But Lucy isn't the only one breaking the rules. As dangers gather around her, she learns she's up against a sinister force that's playing with the delicate fabric of time and space, no matter what the deadly costs or consequences.

Lucy's never had to save the world before—and now, somehow, she's got to find a way to save eight of them.

 

Caroline Carlson is the author of funny and fantastical books for young readers, including The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates trilogy, The World’s Greatest Detective, and The Door at the End of the World, forthcoming in 2019. Her novels have won accolades from the New York Times, the American Booksellers Association, Bank Street College of Education, the American Library Association, and Junior Library Guild, among others.

Caroline holds a BA from Swarthmore College and an MFA in Writing for Children from Vermont College of Fine Arts. A Massachusetts native, she now lives in Pittsburgh with her family.

 

The Door at the End of the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062368300
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - April 9th, 2019

The World's Greatest Detective Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062368270
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 16th, 2017

The Buccaneers' Code (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #3) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062194404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 6th, 2016

The Terror of the Southlands (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #2) Cover Image
By Caroline Carlson, Dave Phillips (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062194374
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - August 11th, 2015

Staff Pick Badge
Magic Marks the Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1) Cover Image
By Caroline Carlson, Dave Phillips (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062194350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 9th, 2014

Event address: 
Penguin Bookshop
417 Beaver Street
Sewickley, PA 15143