The Girl in the Tree (Squirlish #1) (Paperback)

The Girl in the Tree (Squirlish #1) By Ellen Potter Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Squirlish series.


A girl raised by squirrels in Central Park tries to make human friends in this laugh-out-loud, highly illustrated first book in a new chapter book series perfect for fans of Sophie Mouse and Critter Club!

Cordelia is a girl who lives in a tree in Central Park. Found as a baby and raised by an adoring squirrel named Shakespeare, Cordelia acts just like any other young squirrel, leaping across treetops, chasing her squirrel friends, and sleeping in her treehouse. Still, she wonders what it would be like to have a human friend, and when she stumbles into a gymnastics class, it seems like she might have her chance.

Living in a tree might have made Cordelia an exceptional gymnast, but people skills are a whole other matter. Even if Cordelia can’t fully fit in with the other kids, can she at least make one friend? Cordelia starts her journey to be—not exactly a girl, but more than a squirrel—squirlish!

About the Author

Ellen Potter is the author of more than twenty award-winning novels for children and young adults, including Olivia Kidney, Slob, the Big Foot and Little Foot series, the Piper Green and The Fairy Tree series, the Squirlish series, the Hither & Nigh series, The Humming RoomPish Posh, and The Kneebone Boy. Several of her books have been chosen by the New York Public Library for their Best 100 Books for Children list and have appeared on numerous state reading lists. Her nonfiction writing book, Spilling Ink, A Young Writer’s Handbook, coauthored with Anne Mazer, was also chosen by the New York Public Library as a Best 100 Books for Children. Ellen lives in upstate New York with her family. For more information about Ellen and her books, visit

Praise For…

"Cordelia is inquisitive, confused, lovable, and utterly unique. The fantasy elements of her world are imaginative and charming....Suspend all disbelief and enjoy being a part of this world."
Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781665926744
ISBN-10: 1665926740
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: June 13th, 2023
Pages: 112
Language: English
Series: Squirlish