Sanctuary: A Novel (Paperback)

Sanctuary: A Novel By V. V. James Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 28 11:03pm
(FICTION)

Description


Big Little Lies meets Alice Hoffman in a gripping debut of dark domestic suspense following four women, a town secret—and an investigation that shakes their Connecticut town to the core.

Sanctuary is the perfect town...to hide a secret.

When young Daniel Whitman is killed at a high-school party, the community is ripped apart. The death of Sanctuary's star quarterback seems to be a tragic accident, but everyone knows his ex-girlfriend Harper Fenn is the daughter of a witch—and she was there when he died.

VV James weaves a spellbinding tale of a town cracking into pieces and the devastating power of a mother's love. Was Daniel's death an accident, revenge—or something even more sinister?

As accusations fly, paranoia grips the town, culminating in a witch-hunt...and the town becomes no sanctuary at all.

Twisty and compelling with a dash of Practical Magic, Sanctuary is an instant Sunday Times Bestseller of murder, witchcraft, and the dark side of small towns and the secrets kept within them.

Praise For…


"What would you get if you crossed Big Little Lies with 90s teen flick The Craft and threw in a splash of Peyton Place and a dash of The Crucible? The answer is something like this addictive novel, which is set in a world in which witches are uneasily tolerated. Then a teen party ends in death, bringing echoes of Salem to town. " — Independent

"[A] riveting mystery... Assured prose and a tight plot lift this tale of mass hysteria." — Publishers Weekly

"The story ratchets through its many red herrings and misdirections before reaching an explosive conclusion...a solid, complex, and entertaining novel. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Charlaine Harris will enjoy the otherworldly intrigue." — Booklist

"The death of a small town's star quarterback leads to a literal witch-hunt...Soon the town of Sanctuary becomes overrun by fear and accusations, rendering its name a terrible bit of irony." — POPSUGAR
Product Details
ISBN: 9781492699057
ISBN-10: 1492699055
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: September 8th, 2020
Pages: 464
Language: English