Magic Marks the Spot Lib/E (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1) (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Magic Marks the Spot Lib/E (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1) By Caroline Carlson, Katherine Kellgren (Read by) Cover Image
$59.99

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series.

Staff Reviews


Magic Marks the Spot is a delightful read for children of all ages. Hilary Westfield, the young daughter of Royal Navy Admiral James Westfield, has always cherished the dream of one day becoming a feared pirate! Believing this to be quite an improper pasttime for a young lady, her father sends her to finishing school, which she promptly escapes from. Along with her magical gargoyle, her governess who is perhaps not quite all she seems, and two not so fearsome pirates, Hilary sets out to find the magical treasure of the Enchantress of the Northlands. Beautifully humorous, Magic Marks the Spot is a fantastic story! 

— Thomas

Description


Pirates Magic Treasure A gargoyle?

Caroline Carlson's funny tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous--and unexpected--villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781483041605
ISBN-10: 1483041603
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 19th, 2014
Language: English
Series: Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates