Inside Computer Music (Paperback)

Inside Computer Music Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Inside Computer Music is an investigation of how new technological developments have influenced the creative possibilities of composers of computer music in the last 50 years. This book combines detailed research into the development of computer music techniques with nine case studies that analyze key works in the musical and technical development of computer music. The book's companion website offers demonstration videos of the techniques used and downloadable software. There, readers can view interviews and test emulations of the software used by the composers for themselves. The software also presents musical analyses of each of the nine case studies to enable readers to engage with the musical structure aurally and interactively.

About the Author

Michael Clarke is Professor of Music at the University of Huddersfield, UK where he is currently Director of the IRiMaS project (Interactive Research in Music as Sound), funded by a European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant. Fr�d�ric Dufeu is Senior Research Fellow in Music and Music Technology at the University of Huddersfield and currently working on the IRiMaS project . Peter Manning is Emeritus Professor of Music at Durham University.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780190659653
ISBN-10: 0190659653
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication Date: September 17th, 2020
Pages: 432
Language: English