Magic Marks the Spot (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Magic Marks the Spot Cover Image
By Caroline Carlson, Dave Phillips (Illustrator)
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 15 7:45am
(CHILDREN'S BOOKS/AGES 9-1)

Staff Reviews


Magic Marks the Spot is a delightful read for children of all ages. Hilary Westfield, the young daughter of Royal Navy Admiral James Westfield, has always cherished the dream of one day becoming a feared pirate! Believing this to be quite an improper pasttime for a young lady, her father sends her to finishing school, which she promptly escapes from. Along with her magical gargoyle, her governess who is perhaps not quite all she seems, and two not so fearsome pirates, Hilary sets out to find the magical treasure of the Enchantress of the Northlands. Beautifully humorous, Magic Marks the Spot is a fantastic story! 

— Thomas

Description


Pirates Magic Treasure A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates: Magic Marks the Spot is a seafaring romp like no other. The paperback features an Extras section containing an interview with the gargoyle, Hilary's application to the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, and a sneak peek at the second book in the series, The Terror of the Southlands.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. There's only one problem: the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags. But Hilary won't let this stop her; instead, she sets out to find her own piratical adventure and gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous--and unexpected--villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky series is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062194350
ISBN-10: 0062194356
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 9th, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates